8 Graduate Students, Faculty Receive 2021 Dean’s Awards

8 Graduate Students, Faculty Receive 2021 Dean’s Awards

The Graduate School has announced eight recipients for the 2021 Dean’s Awards, recognizing outstanding efforts in mentoring and teaching.

The recipients will be honored at a virtual ceremony on March 31. More details about each recipient will be posted closer to the event.

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring

Each faculty award winner receives a $3,000 prize, while each student recipient gets $2,000.


  • Makeba Wilbourn, Associate Professor of the Practice of Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Marcos A. Rangel, Associate Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy
  • Aaron D. Franklin, Addy Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering


  • Tess Leuthner, Integrated Toxicology and Environmental Health (Faculty Adviser, Joel Meyer)
  • Karla Sosa, Biology (Faculty Adviser, Mark Rausher)
  • Jaime Castrellon, Psychology and Neuroscience (Faculty Adviser, Gregory Samanez-Larkin)

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

Each winner receives $2,000. This award is for Ph.D. students only.

  • Anna Tybinko, Romance Studies (Faculty Adviser, Martin G Eisner)
  • Edgar Virguez, Environmental Sciences and Policy (Faculty Adviser, Dalia Patino Echeverri)


Note: There were no nominations this year for the Dean’s Award in Inclusive Excellence in Graduate Education. In keeping with the goals of the award, The Graduate School will use the award money to support events and programming organized by its departments, programs, or students aimed at creating a more diverse and inclusive environment for graduate education at Duke (see details and apply).