Ph.D. Student Rachael Wright and Research Assistant Jack Dolgin Receive Prestigious NSF Fellowships

Friday, May 1, 2020

2nd-year CNAP student Rachael Wright and RA Jack Dolgin have been awarded National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships (NSF GRFs); 1st-year CNAP student Raphael Geddert, and P&N students Anna Smith and Morgan Taylor received Honorable Mention. The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based Master's and doctoral degrees. First launched in 1952, the GRFP is the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind. Fellows receive a three-year stipend, coverage of tuition and fees, and opportunities for international research and professional development.

Fifteen Duke Ph.D. students received the prestigious NSF GRFP 2020 award:

The Duke Ph.D. students who received GRFP awards this year were:

  • Brittani Lauren Carroll, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Erika Marie Chelales, Biomedical Engineering
  • Marcello Thomas DeLuca, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
  • Gavin Paul Gonzales, Biomedical Engineering
  • Jesse Nelson Granger, Biology
  • Anna Elizabeth Nordseth, Ecology
  • Tomer Rotstein, Biomedical Engineering
  • Chelsea Rae Shoben, Genetics and Genomics
  • Timothy Curtis Shoyer, Biomedical Engineering
  • Kavinayan Sivakumar, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Adriana Stohn, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Jonathan Su, Biomedical Engineering
  • Becky Tang, Statistical Science
  • Khanh Vien, Biology
  • Rachael Nadine Wright, Cognitive Neuroscience

Eighteen other Duke Ph.D. students also were honorable mentions:

  • Rebecca Williams Cook, Evolutionary Anthropology
  • Sophia DeLuca, Developmental and Stem Cell Biology
  • Raphael Markus Geddert, Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Laura Ann Givens, Marine Science and Conservation
  • Stephanie Gu, Biochemistry
  • Richard Lee Hollenbach III, Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
  • Elise Maria Le Boulicaut, Physics
  • Francesco Antonio Mastrocinque, Chemistry
  • Joshua James Milligan, Biomedical Engineering
  • Anastasia Jean Niver, Chemistry
  • Virginia Grace Pan
  • Ashleigh Simone Rawls, Pharmacology
  • Maria Pia Rodriguez Salazar, Cell Biology
  • Robert Thomas Simons, Chemistry
  • Madeleine Janette Sitton, Biomedical Engineering
  • Anna Pauliina Smith, Psychology
  • Rebeccah Stewart, Molecular Cancer Biology
  • Morgan Kendall Taylor, Psychology